We are an independent self funded charity dedicated to the promotion of skills and knowledge for the prevention of eye diseases, both locally and internationally, in areas of unmet need

The PEF Board

Liam Roche, Chairman, B. Bus.

Liam is an experienced business leader with a 40 year career in the media and manufacturing industry, retiring from the role of Chief Operating Officer of Seven West Media (WA) in 2015.  He is a Non-Executive Director for MSWA, Westcare Incorporated, is Deputy Chair of Crime Stoppers WA, and is an adviser to the Murdoch University Emerging Leaders Program.  Recognised as an exceptional mentor with the skills and experience to lead, influence and motivate individuals and teams to perform at their peak.  Liam has a passion for streamlining business processes and providing leadership develop effective teams. 

Liam’s ability to analyse complex problems involving legal, financial, and strategic domains has been invaluable to the board, as has his ability to understand and simplify complex scenarios without overlooking important details. His leadership style is to work collaboratively with all stakeholders to facilitate cost efficiency and maximise revenue generating opportunities in challenging circumstances.  He is currently teaching part time at Murdoch University in Management & Governance, in the School of Business.  He sits on a number of Board committees and joined the ESF board in 2017. He played a central role in establishing the Perth Eye Foundation and took over the role of Chair from Kathy Reid in November 2018. He is on the program advisory panel of the charity.

Liam Roche

Liane Papaelias, CFO, BBus, FCPA, GAICD

Liane has many years of experience in senior executive roles and as a non-executive company director and company secretary in the not for profit sector. She is currently the CFO at Wanslea Family Services and non-executive director for Rural Workforce Australia, Rural Health West, Anglican Schools Commission and the Perth Eye Foundation.

Previous appointments in Senior Executive roles include twelve years as CFO at the Royal Flying Doctor Service of Australia (Western Operations), Management Accountant at Murdoch University and Director of Finance & Administration at Perth College.

Liane first worked in Government and as a consultant with two of the large Chartered Accounting firms before taking on her first management role in the not-for-profit sector where she has now gained over 25 years of rich and rewarding experience. Liane played a central role in establishing the Perth Eye Foundation.

Chief financial officer

Dr Philip House AM, MBBS, FRANZCO

Phil is a West Australian trained ophthalmologist and was one of the founding surgeons who established the Eye Surgery Foundation charity in 1990.  He has supported the charity through pro-bono work on the board of the Perth Eye Centre and the Eye Surgery Foundation since then and continues to the current day. He operated at the Perth Eye Hospital for many years and served as chairman of the Perth Eye Centre board.  He left that board in 2016 to join the Eye Surgery Foundation board and subsequently played a central role in establishing the Perth Eye Foundation charity.  

In 2010 he was appointed an Associate Clinical Professor at UWA and has co-authored over 50 peer reviewed publications. He provided regular specialist services to the Pilbara region of W.A for 25 years and has worked in Timor. In 2017 he received an AM in recognition for his commitment to providing ophthalmic services in areas of unmet need and his voluntary services in Australia and overseas. Phil was actively involved in the evolution of the Eye Surgery Foundation into the Perth Eye Foundation.

Phil House

Dr Ross Littlewood AM, MBBS, BA (Phil), FRANZCO

Ross is a West Australian trained ophthalmologist with degrees in medicine and philosophy. He has worked in the Middle east, West Indies, and Timor. He made regular visits to the Kimberley region of Western Australia from 1986 till 2006 to service remote communities. He has served pro bono on the boards of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists, the Perth Eye Centre, the Eye Surgery Foundation,  and the Perth Eye Foundation.

He has a special interest in medical ethics and colour vision deficiencies. He was awarded an Order of Australia for his overseas service in 2017. He was one of the eight founding surgeons behind the Perth Eye Centre and the Eye Surgery foundation, and was actively involved in establishing the Perth Eye Foundation. He is on the board and the program advisory panel of the charity.

Ross Littlewood

Emma Chinnery, LLB, BA

Emma Chinnery is a senior lawyer, practising as a Partner of Jackson McDonald in Perth.  Emma’s clients are primarily charities and other not-for-profits, Aboriginal trusts and corporations and government bodies.  She has a focus on commercial advice, compliance, corporate structures and best practice governance.  She also regularly assists clients with board training, and in facilitating meetings with members and other stakeholders.  Emma presents on governance and legal topics through Governance Institute and the Emerging Leaders in Governance Program. 

Emma has held board positions with Netball WA Inc, Glass Jar Australia Ltd and the Forum for Directors of Indigenous Organisations, and is a member of the UWA Sports Advisory Council.  She was the inaugural chair of the Governance and Risk Committee for Netball WA.  Emma joined the Perth Eye Foundation board in 2020.

The PEF board wish to acknowledge the generous contribution of past board members of our parent organisation, the Eye Surgery Foundation (ESF)

Ms. Kathy Reid, LLB, BA

Kathy guided the Eye Surgery Foundation board as chairperson during negotiations with the Perth Eye Hospital when those organisations separated. She then initiated the renewal process that culminated in the formation of the independent Perth Eye Foundation charity registered in 2020.

Past ESF board members

Ian Constable 1992-4; Richard Cooper 1993-5; Phillip House 1993-6; Ian Anderson 1993-06; William Morgan 1995-8; Campbell Ansell 1998-06; Raymond Whitford 1992-06; Geoffrey Morlet 1992-08; Andrew Stewart 2006-14; Dagmar Barnes 2008-14; Helen Smith 2009-14; Michael Lewis 1998-15; Ian Kaye-Edie 2006-17; Paul Setchell 2006-17; Anne Russell-Brown 2017-2018; Ross Littlewood 2014-2020; Phillip House 2014-2020; Kathryn Reid 2015-2020; Liane Papaelias 2017-2020; Liam Roche 2017-2020

Documentation and procedures

Our Conflict of Interest Policy

Our Whistleblower Policy

Our Constitution

Chairman's Reports

fostering knowledge giving sight

Eye montage
Charity web icon

 © Perth Eye Foundation 2020

Close Menu